[Перейти к содержанию]

Zero Suicide at Beacon: паритет психического здоровья включает обучение персонала

Все знают, что такое аптечка. Мы все их видели. Мы все использовали их. Удобные коробки, содержащие основные инструменты, необходимые для оказания неотложной медицинской помощи: бинты и антибиотик Suicide WP Cover thumbмази от порезов, холодные компрессы при ожогах, аспирин при головной боли и воспалении. Я заметил одну прямо за углом от моего стола в офисе Beacon Health Options на Стейт-Стрит в Бостоне. Хорошо знать, что это там. Если мне когда-нибудь понадобится медицинская помощь на работе, все, что мне нужно, всегда под рукой. Если кому-то из моих коллег когда-нибудь понадобится неотложная медицинская помощь, я уверен, что у меня есть базовые навыки, чтобы помочь этому человеку.

Но что, если кому-то понадобится неотложная психиатрическая помощь? Могут ли другие вообще знать, что это происходит? Кто-нибудь знает, что делать? Есть ли «инструменты», чтобы помочь человеку, страдающему психическим расстройством?

Beacon Health Options хочет, чтобы ее сотрудники знали ответы на эти вопросы. В рамках первых усилий компании по проведению кампании Zero Suicide в масштабах всей компании Beacon инициирует Первая помощь психического здоровья (MHFA) в 2017 году, чтобы сотрудники могли делать именно это. Чтобы узнать больше о Zero Suicide как научно обоснованном подходе к предотвращению и лечению самоубийств, прочитайте Белую книгу Beacon, «Нам нужно поговорить о самоубийстве».

Что такое тренинг по оказанию первой психологической помощи?

MHFA — это программа, предназначенная для предоставления неклиническим людям инструментов для понимания психических заболеваний, чтобы они знали, как и когда вмешиваться в случае кризиса. В то время как физические недуги легче распознать, проблемы с психическим здоровьем часто труднее обнаружить. Кроме того, лечение медицинских заболеваний, как правило, простое, но лечение психических заболеваний часто варьируется от человека к человеку и в зависимости от ситуации. По этим причинам обучение необходимо для того, чтобы люди были хорошо подготовлены для того, чтобы направлять нуждающихся людей в правильном направлении.

Усилия Beacon по обучению начинаются со смелой цели — обучить каждого сотрудника в штате Нью-Йорк. Это почти 900 сотрудников! В Колорадо команда Beacon уже взяла на себя инициативу по обучению собственного персонала, а также местных жителей.

MHFA — это восьмичасовой курс, на котором участников учат факторам риска и предупредительным признакам психических заболеваний; симптомы конкретных заболеваний; методы вмешательства с кем-то в кризисе; и ресурсы, доступные тем, кто в них нуждается. Не требуется никакого опыта в области здравоохранения или поведенческого здоровья; принять участие в курсе может любой желающий. Некоторые участники сами становятся сертифицированными инструкторами MHFA.

Учебные мероприятия MHFA в Beacon

MHFA начал свою работу в Австралии в 2001 году и пришел в США в 2008 году. В январе 2013 года почти 100 000 американцев прошли обучение через сеть из 2500 сертифицированных инструкторов. С тех пор обучение увеличилось в геометрической прогрессии; недавно Национальный совет по поведенческому здоровью обучил своего миллионного человека!

Усилия Beacon по обучению начинаются со смелой цели — обучить каждого сотрудника в штате Нью-Йорк. Это почти 900 сотрудников! В Колорадо команда Beacon уже взяла на себя инициативу по обучению собственного персонала, а также отдельных лиц в сообществе, включая местные школьные округа, больничные системы и сотрудников библиотек. Мы планируем продолжить эту работу и расширить обучение MHFA для большего числа сотрудников Beacon по всей стране в следующем году, поэтому следите за обновлениями для получения дополнительной информации об этом обучении по мере его развертывания.

MHFA распространяет по всей стране человеческие «инструменты» по охране психического здоровья – обычных людей, которые готовы помочь другим, переживающим кризис психического здоровья. Хотя эти наборы инструментов не так заметны, как аптечка возле моего стола, их повсюду вокруг нас становится все больше. Мы все можем чувствовать себя хорошо, зная, что они там.


Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован. Необходимые поля отмечены *
Комментарии, которые неуместны и / или не относятся к рассматриваемой теме, не будут опубликованы.

Верхняя ссылка
ru_RUРусский

Zero Suicide at Beacon: Mental health parity includes workforce training

Everyone knows what a first aid kit is. We’ve all seen them. We’ve all used them. Convenient boxes containing the basic tools needed to treat medical emergencies: bandages and antibiotic Suicide WP Cover thumbointments for cuts, cold compresses for burns, aspirin for headaches and inflammation. I noticed one right around the corner from my desk in Beacon Health Options’ State Street office in Boston. It’s good to know it’s there. If I’m ever in need of medical attention at work, the items I need are readily accessible. If one of my coworkers ever has a medical emergency, I am confident that I have the basic skills to help that person.

But what if someone were to have a psychiatric emergency? Would others even know it was happening? Would anyone know what to do? Are there ‘tools’ to help someone in psychiatric distress?

Beacon Health Options wants its employees to know the answers to these questions. As part of the company’s inaugural efforts for a companywide Zero Suicide campaign, Beacon is initiating Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) training in 2017 to ensure employees can do just that. To learn more about Zero Suicide as an evidence-based approach to suicide prevention and treatment, read Beacon’s White Paper, “We Need to Talk About Suicide”.

What is Mental Health First Aid training?

MHFA is a program designed to provide non-clinical people with the tools to understand mental illness so they know how and when to intervene in the event of a crisis. While physical health ailments are more easily recognizable, mental health problems are often more difficult to detect.  Further, treatments for medical ailments are usually straightforward, but treatments for mental illness often vary from person- to-person and by situation. For these reasons, training is necessary to ensure people are well equipped to steer those people in need in the right direction.

Beacon’s training efforts are starting with the audacious goal of training every employee in New York state. That amounts to nearly 900 employees! In Colorado, the Beacon team has already taken the initiative to train its own staff as well as individuals in the community.

MHFA is an eight-hour course that teaches participants about risk factors and warning signs of mental illness; symptoms of specific illnesses; techniques for intervening with someone in crisis; and resources available to those in need. No background in health care or behavioral health is required; anyone can participate in the course. Some participants go on to become certified MHFA instructors themselves.

MHFA training efforts at Beacon

MHFA started in Australia in 2001 and came to the US in 2008. In January of 2013, nearly 100,000 Americans had been trained through a network of 2,500 certified instructors. Training has increased exponentially since then; recently the National Council for Behavioral Health trained its 1 millionth person!

Beacon’s training efforts are starting with the audacious goal of training every employee in New York state. That amounts to nearly 900 employees! In Colorado, the Beacon team has already taken the initiative to train its own staff as well as individuals in the community, including local school districts, hospital systems and library staff. We plan to build on this work and expand MHFA training to more Beacon employees across the country in the coming year so stay tuned for more information about this training as we roll it out.

MHFA is planting mental health human ‘toolkits’ all over the country – regular people who are prepared to help others experiencing a mental health crisis. While these toolkits aren’t as visible as the first aid kit near my desk, they are all around us in growing numbers. We can all feel good knowing they are there.

Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Google Bookmarks

Related Posts

1 Comment. Leave new

D J Gonzales
April 13, 2017 3:42 pm

Suicide training is essential for all staff members where mental health and physical health services are rendered. I am presently employed in a community clinic in which health and mental health services are provided. A suicide emergency can occur at any time and any moment, not just with the patients who come for services but also among staff. We tend to think of a suicide attempt or the expression of suicidal ideation as only an event that can happen with people who are identified as mentally ill. This is not the case all the time. When an incident does happen, all staff need to recognize the event and more importantly know what to do without panic. A suicide attempt or even the expression of ideation can bring trauma to those who deal with the incident and those who witness the event.

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *