[跳至内容]

零自杀:理想还是现实?

Zero Suicide事实证明,在我的临床培训中,几乎所有关于自杀的教义都是不正确的。与大多数临床医生所教的相反,我们可以遵循一些临床规程来防止自杀企图-除了将人们关起来以外。

关于检测和治疗自杀的新知识很少转化为实践,部分原因是关于自杀的根深蒂固的污名化。然而,每年死于自杀的美国人几乎是死于自杀的人的三倍。死于乳腺癌的美国人多于死于乳腺癌的人。令人惊讶的是,在所有死于自杀的人中,几乎有一半在上个月与他们的初级保健医生接触过。在老年人中,这一比例为78%。因此,筛查有关初级保健事项中的抑郁和自杀倾向的问题。最后,死于自杀的人中有19%在前一个月与精神卫生服务机构接触过。

美国疾病控制与预防中心最近发布的数据显示,美国的自杀率处于 30年来最高 –尽管每个州都有自杀预防计划,但要进行筛查,热线电话和努力提高教育意识。

总而言之,自杀是一个不容忽视的问题。美国疾病控制与预防中心最近发布的数据显示,美国的自杀率处于 30年来最高 –尽管每个州都有自杀预防计划,但要进行筛查,热线电话和努力提高教育意识。我们正在做的事情没有用。

证据揭示了什么

因此,我们需要寻找证据来确定什么对预防自杀有效。该证据基础可导致以下四种治疗方法:

  • 非需求关怀联系人 对住院病人出院后的患者进行了直接的随访。这些联系人可以通过信件,电话,短信或亲自联系。重要的是在住院后不久的高危时期进行某种接触。
  • 预防自杀的认知行为疗法 (CBT-SP)是一种特殊类型的CBT,包括认知重组策略,情绪调节策略,行为激活和问题解决方法,以减少自杀企图和症状。对于青少年,如果需要,此方法还包括家庭干预。
  • 几项随机对照试验证明了该药的有效性。 辩证行为疗法 (DBT)减少自杀行为和其他行为健康问题。由玛莎·莱恩汉(Marsha Linehan)博士率先开发的DBT致力于解决个人接受和改变的准备。它包括每周小组和个人治疗。
  • 多项试验也证明了这一点,包括一项随机可行性试验, 自杀性的协作评估和管理 (CAMS)是一个框架,可让患者在门诊环境中拥有和制定自己的治疗计划。

在过去15年中发展起来的这些新的循证实践,连同文化变革和改进的跟踪一起,重新定义了我们对自杀的治疗方法。这些活动共同定义了一个新的运动,称为 零自杀。来自的经验 亨利·福特医疗系统,以及在其他地方,证明了这个大胆的目标可以变成现实-不仅仅是愿望。

与其他州一样,在马萨诸塞州,我们有许多合作和组织已经在努力减少自杀人数。信标健康选择通过其马萨诸塞州行为健康合作组织寻求实施零自杀原则的一个例子是我们参与了马萨诸塞州青少年自杀预防项目。这个由青年服务的国家机构和农村医疗体系组成的联盟旨在通过基于学校的教育计划,社区领导人的参与,针对青年从事职业的人员的意识培训(例如, ,教师和神职人员)等等。

在过去15年中发展起来的这些新的循证实践,连同文化变革和改进的跟踪一起,重新定义了我们对自杀的治疗方法。

总而言之,我们许多人认识某个曾经企图自杀或自杀未遂的人。它发生了。但是,我们可以做更多的事情来阻止它。这项工作与个别临床医生的英勇行为无关;这是关于系统性临床方法的实施。并针对一个宏伟的,毛茸茸的,大胆的目标执行:零自杀。

附加参考:

信标支持全国预防自杀行动联盟和工作场所工作组,致力于通过增加寻求帮助行为和营造健康的工作场所文化来解决雇主在减少自杀中可以发挥的作用: http://actionallianceforsuicideprevention.org/task-force/workplace


3评论。 留下新的

LCSW戴夫·韦斯特
五月10,2016 8:34下午

零自杀确实是一个大胆的目标。证据揭示的四点清单似乎与该领域在过去20年中一直在使用的方法相同。当前的高发病率似乎表明,更需要了解系统原因,以便设计整体的系统干预措施,而不仅仅是心理治疗。社会工作模式将拓宽视野,以包括与文化,经济,宗教,社会价值观等有关的更多动态。对于适当地影响自杀,这确实是一项艰巨的挑战。但是,采用持续的整体方法的组织是社区心理健康的英雄。

回复
萨布丽娜·沃伯顿(Sabrina Warburton)
五月11,2016 6:11下午

我最近了解到一个母亲的案例,该母亲没有抑郁或自杀企图,但在第一次尝试中丧生。我们如何处理类似的情况?这个人不在任何人的注意范围内。

回复
贝蒂·纳多(Betty Nadeau)
五月12,2016 9:21上午

在失去两名家庭成员自杀后,我了解到所有基层医疗医生每次访视时都必须筛查是否患有抑郁和自杀念头,并确定是否有危险。精神保健专业人员必须在每次就诊时使用循证哥伦比亚自杀严重性等级量表进行评估。临床医生必须提出棘手的问题,并且总是会放心地让患者放心,因为他发现有人真的在乎。患者和临床医生准备的安全计划对于询问医疗手段并限制对医疗手段的访问也至关重要,例如枪支,毒品等。基于证据的协作式护理以及将家人和亲人拉入护理团队至关重要。让我向您保证,如果哥哥知道她会上吊,那么他永远不会离开妻子一分钟。为什么要零自杀?因为它有效!让我们不要少花钱!

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

Zero Suicide: Aspirational or Reality?

Zero SuicideIt turns out that almost everything I was taught about suicide during my clinical training is not true. Contrary to what most clinicians are taught, there is clinical protocol we can follow to prevent suicide attempts – apart from locking people up.

Very little of this new knowledge about detecting and treating suicidality has translated into practice, partly due to the entrenched stigma that still surrounds talking about suicide. Yet each year, nearly three times as many Americans die from suicide as from homicide. More Americans kill themselves than die from breast cancer. Strikingly, almost half of all of those who die from suicide had contact with their primary care physician in the preceding month. Among older adults, it’s 78 percent. Consequently, screening questions about depression and suicidality in primary care matter. Lastly, 19 percent of people who die from suicide had contact with mental health services in the month before.

Recently published Centers for Disease Control and Prevention figures reveal that US suicide rates are at a 30-year high – in spite of suicide prevention programs in every state, with screening, hotlines and efforts to raise educational awareness.

The long and short of it is that suicide is a problem that can no longer be ignored. Recently published Centers for Disease Control and Prevention figures reveal that US suicide rates are at a 30-year high – in spite of suicide prevention programs in every state, with screening, hotlines and efforts to raise educational awareness. What we’re doing just isn’t working.

What the evidence reveals

Therefore, we need to look to the evidence to determine what works for suicide prevention. That evidence base leads to the following four approaches to treatment:

  • Non-demand caring contacts are straightforward follow-ups with people following discharge from inpatient care. These contacts can be via letter, phone call, text or in person. What matters is some kind of contact in the immediate high-risk period following an inpatient admission.
  • Cognitive behavioral therapy for suicide prevention (CBT-SP) is a specific type of CBT that includes cognitive-restructuring strategies, emotion-regulation strategies, behavior activation and problem-solving to reduce suicide attempts and symptoms. For adolescents, this approach also includes family interventions, if needed.
  • Several randomized controlled trials have demonstrated the effectiveness of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) at reducing suicidal behavior and other behavioral health issues. Pioneered by Dr. Marsha Linehan, DBT addresses an individual’s readiness for acceptance and change. It includes weekly group and individual treatment.
  • Also demonstrated by several trials, including one randomized feasibility trial, the collaborative assessment and management of suicidality (CAMS) is a framework that engages patients in owning and developing their own treatment plan in an outpatient setting.

Developed over the last 15 years, these new evidence-based practices, together with cultural change and improved tracking, redefine our approach to treating suicidality. Collectively, these activities define a new movement referred to as Zero Suicide. Experience from the Henry Ford Health System, and elsewhere, demonstrates this audacious goal can become reality – not just aspiration.

In Massachusetts, like other states, we have numerous collaborations and organizations already working hard to reduce the number of suicides. One example of where Beacon Health Options, through its Massachusetts Behavioral Health Partnership, is seeking to implement the principles of Zero Suicide is our participation in the Massachusetts Youth Suicide Prevention Project. This coalition of youth-serving state agencies and rural health care systems aims to reduce the number of suicide attempts and deaths among youths ages 10-24 through school-based education programs, engagement of community leaders, awareness trainings for youth-engaged professionals (e.g., teachers and clergy), and more.

Developed over the last 15 years, these new evidence-based practices, together with cultural change and improved tracking, redefine our approach to treating suicidality.

In summary, many of us know someone who has attempted or completed suicide. It happens. But there is more we can do to prevent it. That work is not about the heroics of individual clinicians; it’s about the implementation of a systematic clinical approach. And executing against a big, hairy, audacious goal: Zero Suicide.

Additional reference:

Beacon supports the National Action Alliance on Suicide Prevention and the Workplace Task Force dedicated to addressing the role employers can play in reducing suicide by increasing help-seeking behaviors and creating a healthy workplace culture: http://actionallianceforsuicideprevention.org/task-force/workplace

Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Google Bookmarks

3 Comments. Leave new

Dave West, LCSW
May 10, 2016 8:34 pm

Zero Suicide is indeed an audacious goal. The list of four points of what evidence reveals seems to the same approaches that the field has been using over the past 20 years. The current high rate of incidence would seem to indicate a greater need to understand the systematic causes in order to design a holistic systematic intervention – beyond just psychotherapy. A social work model would broaden the perspective to include more dynamics related to cultural, economic, religious, social values, etc. It is indeed an uphill challenge to appropriately impact suicide. But organization that take an ongoing holistic approach are heroes to the mental health of the community.

Reply
Sabrina Warburton
May 11, 2016 6:11 pm

I recently learned about a case of a mother, who had no history of depression or suicidal attempts, losing her life at the first attempt. How do we address similar cases? This person wasn’t on anybody’s radar.

Reply
Betty Nadeau
May 12, 2016 9:21 am

After losing two family members to suicide, I have learned that all primary care doctors must screen for depression and suicidal ideation at every visit and refer if determined to be at risk. Mental health professionals must assess with the evidence-based Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale at every visit. Clinicians must ask the tough questions and invariably the patient will be relieved to find that someone really cares. A Safety plan prepared by the patient and clinician is critical as well inquiring about means and restricting access to means i., e. guns, drugs, etc. Collaborative evidence-based care and pulling family members and loved ones into the care team is essential. Let me assure you that my brother never would have left his wife for one minute, if he had known that she would hang herself. Why Zero Suicide? Because it works! Let’s not settle for less!

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *