解决一次精神分裂症的难题

solvingtheriddle温斯顿·丘吉尔(Winston Churchill)如何描述俄罗斯在第二次世界大战开始时的立场是“谜团中的一个谜”,这一声明在经过100多年的研究后仍然对我们对精神分裂症的理解仍然正确。尽管提示不时出现-自身免疫性,脑部连通性,遗传学,发病年龄-但它们似乎掩盖了可以帮助我们理解这种毁灭性精神病的合成方法。上个月,一篇论文 性质 似乎将零碎的科学传统打破了,它通过将几条字符串汇集在一起,以令人着迷的方式窥视遗传机制,大脑发育乃至动物模型的内部运作,以帮助理解精神分裂症的原因。谜语开始有意义地解开。

位置,位置,位置

该研究首先从6号染色体上珩磨开始,该区域长期已知与 精神分裂症。但是,查看6号染色体就像知道一个住在美国的人(精神分裂症的大脑)住在德克萨斯州(在这种情况下是6号染色体)一样。但是得克萨斯州哪里呢?为了在第6号染色体内找到确切的位置,研究人员集中研究了主要的组织相容性复合体(MHC)(与精神分裂症相关的区域)的遗传标记。现在我们到了达拉斯的一个地址,但是在哪里?

为了进一步确定该位置,研究人员进行了群体水平分析,发现与编码补体成分4的基因C4基因有很强的联系。该基因具有两个同种型A和B,并与特定人类内源性逆转录病毒插入(HERV)的长(L)或短(S)版本相关。现在我们似乎在达拉斯找到了一条特定的街道,但是为什么这个人住在那儿呢?补体系统基因与精神分裂症如何相关?

补体系统 是免疫系统反应的一部分,可以保护人体免受感染,例如帮助抗体消灭细菌。这项研究发现,精神分裂症患者的脑组织中C4A表达升高。大脑中免疫过程的激活如何与精神分裂症联系起来?

事实证明,免疫系统在称为“修剪”的过程中起着关键作用,这是中枢神经系统正常发育的一部分。修剪突触和神经元是大脑成熟的关键过程,人类从青春期一直延伸到生命的第三个十年。青春期是大多数精神分裂症患者开始显示疾病症状的关键时间。这里的一个假设是,精神分裂症可能是由于特定C4基因构型在大脑中补体的过表达而导致的过度修剪或不适当修剪的产物。

人口级数据加强了科学

这项研究的特殊之处在于使用人口数据来定位该基因-来自超过65,000人的数据,使用700个死后大脑的脑组织活检样本来研究这些基因的表达,并研究小鼠模型来检查这些基因的作用。发现。这份最近的报告的作者以如此多种方式继续现代精神病学之父埃米尔·克雷佩林的工作而受到赞扬,他于1899年在他著名的教科书中写道:

“老年痴呆症(精神分裂症)的真实本质是完全模糊的。目前,最广泛接受的意见是,我们正在这里处理遗传因素不足的逐步失败。就像一棵树,其根不再在可利用的土壤中找到营养,因此,一旦遗产不足而不再允许进一步发展,那么知识力量就会减少。但是,对此观点产生了非常沉重的怀疑。令人无法理解的是,为什么在大多数情况下健康且经常充满活力的生物突然突然出现,并且没有特殊原因,不仅会停止自我完善,而且常常陷入衰弱状态。”

随着当前研究结果的融合 ,我们也许可以指出其中的一些特殊原因,并开始从C4基因解开这种精神分裂症精神分裂症,以补充突触的活性和修剪作用,促进大脑发育。克莱佩林将为此感到自豪。


没意见

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

zh_CN简体中文

Solving the Riddle of Schizophrenia, Several Pieces at a Time

solvingtheriddle“A riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma” was how Winston Churchill described Russia’s position at the outset of World War II ­– a statement that still rings true about our understanding of schizophrenia after more than 100 hundred years of research. While hints have appeared from time to time – autoimmunity, brain connectivity, genetics, age of onset – they seem to elude a synthesis that could help us make sense of this devastating psychiatric disorder. Last month, a paper in Nature seems to have broken the tradition of piecemeal science by pulling together several strings into one fascinating peek at the inner workings of genetic mechanisms, brain development, and even animal models to help make sense of the causes of schizophrenia. The riddle starts to meaningfully unwrap.

Location, location, location

The study starts by honing in on chromosome 6, a region long known to be associated with schizophrenia. However, looking at chromosome 6 is like knowing that a person who lives in the U.S. (the brain for schizophrenia) lives in Texas (chromosome 6, in this case). But where in Texas? To find an exact location within that chromosome 6, researchers focused on genetic markers across the major histocompatibility complex (MHC) – an area associated with schizophrenia. Now we are down to an address in Dallas, but where?

To further pinpoint that location, researchers did population-level analysis and found a strong association to a gene encoding complement component 4, known as C4 gene. This gene has two isotypes, A and B, and are associated with a long (L) or short (S) version of a particular human endogenous retroviral insertion (HERV). Now we seem to find a particular street in Dallas, but why is this person living there? How is a complement system gene associated with schizophrenia?

The complement system is part of the immune system response to protect the body from infection, helping antibodies destroy bacteria, for example. This study found that C4A expression is elevated in the brain tissue from patients with schizophrenia. How could the activation of an immune process in the brain be linked to schizophrenia?

It turns out the immune system plays a key role in a process known as “pruning”, which is part of the central nervous system’s normal development. Pruning of synapses and neurons is a key process of brain maturation that in humans extends from adolescence to the third decade of life. Adolescence is the critical time when most people with schizophrenia start to show symptoms of the disease. One hypothesis here is that schizophrenia could be the product of excessive or inappropriate pruning caused by overexpression of the complement in the brain due to specific C4 gene configurations.

Population-level data strengthen the science

The special beauty of this study is using population data to locate the gene – data from more than 65,000 people, using brain tissue biopsies from 700 postmortem brains to look at the expression of these genes, and looking at mouse models to check the effect of these findings. The authors of this recent report are to be commended for using such a multitude of approaches to continue the work of Emil Kraepelin, the father of modern psychiatry, who wrote in his famous textbook in 1899:

“The real nature of dementia praecox [schizophrenia] is totally obscure. The most widely held opinion at present is that we are dealing here with the gradual failure of an inadequate hereditary factor. Like a tree whose roots no longer find nurture in the available soil, so the intellectual powers are said to dwindle once the inadequate heritage no longer permits further development. But very weighty doubts arise against this view. It is incomprehensible why an organism which has in most cases developed healthily and often vigorously should suddenly, and for no particular reason, not only cease to perfect itself but often even sink into a languishing state.”

With the confluence of findings presented in the current paper, we may be able to point some of these particular reasons and start unwrapping this riddle schizophrenia, from the C4 gene, to complement activity and pruning of synapses, to brain development. Kraepelin would be proud.

Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Google Bookmarks

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *