حل لغز الفصام ، عدة قطع في وقت واحد

solvingtheriddleوصف ونستون تشرشل موقف روسيا في بداية الحرب العالمية الثانية - وهو تصريح لا يزال يبدو صحيحًا حول فهمنا لمرض انفصام الشخصية بعد أكثر من مائة عام من البحث "لغز ملفوف في لغز داخل لغز". بينما ظهرت تلميحات من وقت لآخر - المناعة الذاتية ، وترابط الدماغ ، وعلم الوراثة ، وسن البداية - يبدو أنها تستعصي على توليف يمكن أن يساعدنا في فهم هذا الاضطراب النفسي المدمر. الشهر الماضي ، ورقة في طبيعة يبدو أنه كسر تقليد العلم الجزئي من خلال تجميع عدة خيوط معًا في نظرة خاطفة واحدة رائعة على الأعمال الداخلية للآليات الجينية ، وتطور الدماغ ، وحتى النماذج الحيوانية للمساعدة في فهم أسباب مرض انفصام الشخصية. يبدأ اللغز في التلاشي بشكل هادف.

الموقع والموقع والموقع

تبدأ الدراسة بالتركيز على الكروموسوم 6 ، وهي منطقة معروفة منذ زمن طويل بأنها مرتبطة بها فصام. ومع ذلك ، فإن النظر إلى الكروموسوم 6 يشبه معرفة أن الشخص الذي يعيش في الولايات المتحدة (دماغ الفصام) يعيش في تكساس (الكروموسوم 6 ، في هذه الحالة). لكن أين في تكساس؟ للعثور على موقع محدد داخل ذلك الكروموسوم 6 ، ركز الباحثون على العلامات الجينية عبر مجمع التوافق النسيجي الرئيسي (MHC) - وهي منطقة مرتبطة بالفصام. الآن وصلنا إلى عنوان في دالاس ، لكن أين؟

لتحديد هذا الموقع بشكل أكبر ، أجرى الباحثون تحليلاً على مستوى السكان ووجدوا ارتباطًا قويًا بمكوِّن مكمل ترميز الجينات 4 ، المعروف باسم جين C4. يحتوي هذا الجين على نمطين متشابهين ، A و B ، ويرتبطان بنسخة طويلة (L) أو قصيرة (S) لإدخال فيروسات قهقرية بشرية معينة (HERV). يبدو الآن أننا وجدنا شارعًا معينًا في دالاس ، ولكن لماذا يعيش هذا الشخص هناك؟ كيف يرتبط جين النظام التكميلي بالفصام؟

ال نظام كامل هو جزء من استجابة جهاز المناعة لحماية الجسم من العدوى ، ومساعدة الأجسام المضادة على تدمير البكتيريا ، على سبيل المثال. وجدت هذه الدراسة أن تعبير C4A مرتفع في أنسجة المخ لدى مرضى الفصام. كيف يمكن ربط تنشيط عملية المناعة في الدماغ بالفصام؟

اتضح أن الجهاز المناعي يلعب دورًا رئيسيًا في عملية تعرف باسم "التقليم" ، وهي جزء من التطور الطبيعي للجهاز العصبي المركزي. تشذيب نقاط الاشتباك العصبي والخلايا العصبية هو عملية أساسية لنضج الدماغ تمتد في البشر من سن المراهقة إلى العقد الثالث من العمر. المراهقة هي الفترة الحرجة التي يبدأ فيها معظم المصابين بالفصام في إظهار أعراض المرض. إحدى الفرضيات هنا هي أن الفصام يمكن أن يكون ناتجًا عن التقليم المفرط أو غير المناسب الناجم عن الإفراط في التعبير عن المكمل في الدماغ بسبب تكوينات جينية معينة من C4.

البيانات على مستوى السكان تعزز العلم

الجمال الخاص لهذه الدراسة هو استخدام البيانات السكانية لتحديد موقع الجين - بيانات من أكثر من 65000 شخص ، باستخدام خزعات أنسجة المخ من 700 أدمغة بعد الوفاة للنظر في التعبير عن هذه الجينات ، والنظر في نماذج الفئران للتحقق من تأثير هذه الموجودات. يجب الثناء على مؤلفي هذا التقرير الأخير لاستخدامهم مثل هذا العدد الكبير من الأساليب لمواصلة عمل إميل كريبلين ، والد الطب النفسي الحديث ، الذي كتب في كتابه الشهير عام 1899:

"إن الطبيعة الحقيقية لمرض الخرف المبتسر [انفصام الشخصية] غامضة تمامًا. الرأي الأكثر انتشارًا في الوقت الحاضر هو أننا نتعامل هنا مع الفشل التدريجي لعامل وراثي غير كافٍ. مثل الشجرة التي لم تعد جذورها تتغذى في التربة المتاحة ، لذلك يقال إن القوى الفكرية تتضاءل بمجرد أن لم يعد التراث غير الملائم يسمح بمزيد من التطوير. لكن هناك شكوك كبيرة جدًا في مواجهة هذا الرأي. من غير المفهوم لماذا يجب فجأة فجأة ، وبدون سبب معين ، أن يتوقف الكائن الحي ، الذي نما في معظم الحالات بشكل صحي وبقوة ، عن إتقان نفسه فحسب ، بل غالبًا ما يغوص في حالة من الضعف ".

مع التقاء النتائج المعروضة في الحاضر ورقة، قد نكون قادرين على الإشارة إلى بعض هذه الأسباب المحددة والبدء في فك هذا الفصام اللغز ، من جين C4 ، لاستكمال نشاط وتقليم نقاط الاشتباك العصبي ، إلى نمو الدماغ. سيكون Kraepelin فخوراً.


لا تعليقات

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

arالعربية

Solving the Riddle of Schizophrenia, Several Pieces at a Time

solvingtheriddle“A riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma” was how Winston Churchill described Russia’s position at the outset of World War II ­– a statement that still rings true about our understanding of schizophrenia after more than 100 hundred years of research. While hints have appeared from time to time – autoimmunity, brain connectivity, genetics, age of onset – they seem to elude a synthesis that could help us make sense of this devastating psychiatric disorder. Last month, a paper in Nature seems to have broken the tradition of piecemeal science by pulling together several strings into one fascinating peek at the inner workings of genetic mechanisms, brain development, and even animal models to help make sense of the causes of schizophrenia. The riddle starts to meaningfully unwrap.

Location, location, location

The study starts by honing in on chromosome 6, a region long known to be associated with schizophrenia. However, looking at chromosome 6 is like knowing that a person who lives in the U.S. (the brain for schizophrenia) lives in Texas (chromosome 6, in this case). But where in Texas? To find an exact location within that chromosome 6, researchers focused on genetic markers across the major histocompatibility complex (MHC) – an area associated with schizophrenia. Now we are down to an address in Dallas, but where?

To further pinpoint that location, researchers did population-level analysis and found a strong association to a gene encoding complement component 4, known as C4 gene. This gene has two isotypes, A and B, and are associated with a long (L) or short (S) version of a particular human endogenous retroviral insertion (HERV). Now we seem to find a particular street in Dallas, but why is this person living there? How is a complement system gene associated with schizophrenia?

The complement system is part of the immune system response to protect the body from infection, helping antibodies destroy bacteria, for example. This study found that C4A expression is elevated in the brain tissue from patients with schizophrenia. How could the activation of an immune process in the brain be linked to schizophrenia?

It turns out the immune system plays a key role in a process known as “pruning”, which is part of the central nervous system’s normal development. Pruning of synapses and neurons is a key process of brain maturation that in humans extends from adolescence to the third decade of life. Adolescence is the critical time when most people with schizophrenia start to show symptoms of the disease. One hypothesis here is that schizophrenia could be the product of excessive or inappropriate pruning caused by overexpression of the complement in the brain due to specific C4 gene configurations.

Population-level data strengthen the science

The special beauty of this study is using population data to locate the gene – data from more than 65,000 people, using brain tissue biopsies from 700 postmortem brains to look at the expression of these genes, and looking at mouse models to check the effect of these findings. The authors of this recent report are to be commended for using such a multitude of approaches to continue the work of Emil Kraepelin, the father of modern psychiatry, who wrote in his famous textbook in 1899:

“The real nature of dementia praecox [schizophrenia] is totally obscure. The most widely held opinion at present is that we are dealing here with the gradual failure of an inadequate hereditary factor. Like a tree whose roots no longer find nurture in the available soil, so the intellectual powers are said to dwindle once the inadequate heritage no longer permits further development. But very weighty doubts arise against this view. It is incomprehensible why an organism which has in most cases developed healthily and often vigorously should suddenly, and for no particular reason, not only cease to perfect itself but often even sink into a languishing state.”

With the confluence of findings presented in the current paper, we may be able to point some of these particular reasons and start unwrapping this riddle schizophrenia, from the C4 gene, to complement activity and pruning of synapses, to brain development. Kraepelin would be proud.

Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Google Bookmarks

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *