الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية السلوكية يعزز النمو بعد الصدمة

American Sniper Blog Image

تحقيق نمو نفسي ايجابي من الشدائد

كانت الصحة السلوكية مشكلة تجنبناها خلال العشرين عامًا التي قضيتها كضابط في مشاة الجيش. لم أكن أتفهم قيمة الرعاية الصحية السلوكية في الوقت المناسب لجيشنا حتى بدأت العمل في شركة وطنية للصحة السلوكية قبل تسع سنوات.

من خلال قصة كريس كايل ، رأت أمريكا ثلاثة عناصر أساسية لدعم الصحة السلوكية التي يمكن أن تؤدي ليس فقط إلى التعافي ولكن أيضًا إلى النمو للفرد المعرض لصدمات جسدية وعقلية شديدة ، وغالبًا ما يشار إليها باسم النمو بعد الصدمة.

بالنسبة للكثيرين ، جاء هذا التعليم بين عشية وضحاها. أعطت إحدى شباك التذاكر مؤخرًا أكثر من 25 مليون أمريكي نظرة واقعية لأهمية دعم الصحة السلوكية من أجل انتعاش ونمو أعضاء الخدمة.

قناص أمريكي من إخراج كلينت إيستوود وبطولة برادلي كوبر ، يحكي قصة حياة البحرية سيل كريس كايل ، الرماة الأكثر دموية في تاريخ الجيش الأمريكي مع 160 حالة قتل مؤكدة خلال أربع جولات قتالية في العراق.

يسلط الفيلم الضوء على صعوبة الحرب على رجال ونساء خدمتنا بشكل عام ، والضغوط الفردية التي تراكمت بمرور الوقت مع كونهم الرماة الأكثر دموية في البلاد ، على وجه الخصوص. على الرغم من قوة كريس ، لم تستطع صحته العقلية تحمل الضغط الساحق لتجاربه في زمن الحرب. من خلال قصة كريس كايل ، رأت أمريكا ثلاثة عناصر أساسية لدعم الصحة السلوكية التي يمكن أن تؤدي ليس فقط إلى التعافي ولكن أيضًا إلى النمو للفرد المعرض لصدمات جسدية وعقلية شديدة ، وغالبًا ما يشار إليها باسم النمو بعد الصدمة.

  1. الدعم الأسري

أفراد الأسرة مضاعفون للجاهزية القتالية ، ونادرًا ما يتلقون إشعارًا أو شكرًا على العبء الذي يتحملونه. في قناص أمريكيتحاول زوجة كريس ، تايا ، إقناعه في كل مرة يعود فيها من إحدى القوات لطلب المساعدة بينما يزداد عزلة عن العائلة. لم يقتل كلب العائلة تقريبًا أثناء حفل شواء في الفناء الخلفي حتى نجحت عائلته أخيرًا في جعله يطلب المساعدة من خلال وزارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى (VA). تبين أن هذه الزيارة غيرت الحياة.

تمامًا كما كان Taya بالنسبة لكريس ، فإن أفراد الأسرة هم هياكل دعم لا تقدر بثمن لعضو الخدمة الذين يعيشون مع ضغوط يومية كبيرة قبل وأثناء وبعد عمليات النشر. ومع ذلك ، تحتاج العائلات العسكرية إلى الدعم أيضًا ، أو ستنفد دباباتهم الاحتياطية. لحسن الحظ ، تتوفر العديد من الموارد التي تستهدف على وجه التحديد وتدعم العائلات العسكرية خلال جميع مراحل رحلتهم العسكرية وما بعد العسكرية ، مثل مصدر واحد العسكرية, 24/7 مورد لمساعدة العائلات العسكرية و تريكير، برنامج الرعاية الصحية للجيش. ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضًا أن رابطة الأسرة العسكرية الوطنية تقدم منحًا دراسية لأزواج العسكريين ، والمعسكرات الصيفية للأطفال العسكريين ، والملاذات العائلية ، وجهود الدعوة لحماية مزايا الأسرة العسكرية.

حيث قد يتعين على مستشاري الصحة السلوكية العمل من خلال عملية بناء العلاقات لاكتساب المصداقية ، يمكن أن يكون الأقران مكملاً فوريًا وهامًا لدعم الاستشارة الصحية السلوكية المستمرة.

  1. فهم الثقافة العسكرية

خلال لقاء كريس الاستشارة VA ، طبق المعالج وعيه بالفروق الثقافية العسكرية لتوجيه موكله المتردد إلى طريق التعافي. باستخدام حاجة كريس الفطرية لحماية ومساعدة زملائه المحاربين ، تمكن المعالج من إعادة توجيه تركيز كريس للتحدث مع (ومحاولة "إنقاذ") قدامى المحاربين الآخرين في مستشفى فيرجينيا بجروح مرئية وغير مرئية. وقد دفعه هذا لاحقًا إلى تقديم دعم جماعي وفرد لواحد للمحاربين القدامى الآخرين في المجتمع.

يعد وجود مستشارين على دراية بالثقافة العسكرية أمرًا أساسيًا ، خاصة في تلك الجلسات الأولية. برامج دعم المجتمع والأسرة العسكرية مثل مصدر واحد العسكرية توفير الوصول الفوري إلى المشورة قصيرة الأجل ، والتحويلات الدافئة إلى استشارات الصحة العقلية ، ومجموعة غير عادية من خدمات الدعم ، بما في ذلك دعم الأقران العسكري.

  1. دعم الأقران

هناك أوقات يكون فيها الدعم الأسري له حدود. أصبح المحاربون القدامى ، مثل كريس ، بعيدًا بشكل متزايد ، ويحتفظون بحسابات وقصص الحرب لأنفسهم كوسيلة لحماية أحبائهم. يقول كريس لطايا ، "لا أريد [الحرب] في رأسك."

هذا هو المكان الذي يتمتع فيه الأقران (عمومًا المحاربون القدامى الذين تعاملوا بنجاح مع تعافي صحتهم العقلية) بقيمة علاجية كبيرة. حيث قد يتعين على مستشاري الصحة السلوكية العمل من خلال عملية بناء العلاقات لاكتساب المصداقية ، يمكن أن يكون الأقران مكملاً فوريًا وهامًا لدعم الاستشارة الصحية السلوكية المستمرة. يأتي المستشارون الأقران إلى طاولة المفاوضات بأوراق اعتماد جاهزة ("كنت هناك ، وفعلت ذلك") ، مما يجعل بناء العلاقات ، وفي النهاية التعافي والنمو ، عملية أسرع بكثير.

قناص أمريكي هو فيلم مهم من حيث أنه يسلط الضوء على النمو بعد الصدمة الذي نراه في المحاربين القدامى الذين يندمجون مرة أخرى في مجتمعاتنا ، مما يعزز أهمية التخفيف من وصمة العار المرتبطة بالعسكريين الذين يبحثون عن خدمات الصحة السلوكية. يعد القيام بذلك أمرًا بالغ الأهمية للاستعداد القتالي ودعم أفراد الخدمة والمحاربين القدامى وعائلاتهم في البقاء على مسار شخصي ومهني إيجابي.

المزيد من الموارد لجيشنا وقدامى المحاربين وعائلاتهم:

  1. قم بالإتصال: مورد VA عبر الإنترنت يربط المحاربين القدامى وأصدقائهم وأفراد أسرهم بالمعلومات والموارد والحلول للقضايا التي تؤثر على حياتهم.
  2. خط أزمة المحاربين القدامى: 1.800.273.8255
  3. برنامج دعم خفر السواحل: مورد 24/7 لمساعدة خفر السواحل في الخدمة الفعلية والاحتياط والموظفين المدنيين وعائلاتهم.
  4. الثقافة العسكرية: الكفاءات الأساسية لأخصائيي الرعاية الصحية: مورد DoD / VA لتثقيف مقدمي الخدمات المدنية السريرية في الثقافة العسكرية: أربع وحدات مدتها ساعتان مع اثنين من وحدات CEU المجانية المكتسبة لكل وحدة مكتملة.

8 تعليقات. اترك الجديد

شكرًا لك ، دكتور سكروجز على هذه المقالة المعلوماتية والثاقبة حول النمو بعد الصدمة. أنا أقدر الموارد الإضافية التي أدرجتها في المقالة. بصفتي طبيبة ممرضة في شركة الصحة السلوكية الخاصة بنا وزوجة أحد قدامى المحاربين في الجيش (وزوجة ابنها لأحد قدامى المحاربين في البحرية) ، فأنا على دراية بالثقافة العسكرية والوصمة المرتبطة بالعسكريين الذين يبحثون عن خدمات الصحة السلوكية. هذا المقال جاهز للمشاركة مع أفراد عائلتي وكذلك زملائي. أتمنى لو كانت لدي هذه المعلومات عندما كانت زوجتي عضوًا في الخدمة الفعلية! شكرا لك مرة أخرى!

رد

شكرا لك روث. كنت أتمنى لو كانت لدي هذه المعلومات عندما كنت في الخدمة الفعلية 1976-96. لكن لم يفت الأوان أبدًا للتحدث عن هذه الخدمات والتعامل معها بشكل علني تمامًا كما تفعل إذا طلبت أنت أو أحد أفراد أسرتك خدمات لعلاج الحمى أو إصابة الكاحل. شكرا مرة أخرى ، روث.
ستيف

رد
توم واربورتون
أغسطس 6، 2015 6:33 م

شكرا ستيف على هذا المنشور الرائع. لم أخدم بلدنا أبدًا في الجيش ، لذلك لا يمكنني إلا أن أتخيل ما يجب أن يكون عليه الحال عند العودة من القتال في الخارج إلى الحياة اليومية هنا في الولايات المتحدة. لقد ذكرت أن الصحة السلوكية كانت شيئًا يجب `` تجنبه '' خلال فترة وجودك في الجيش ، لكن إحساسي أن هذا يتغير بسرعة مع تركيز الجيش المتزايد باستمرار على الحد من وصمة العار وتوفير الوصول إلى رعاية صحية سلوكية عالية الجودة للجنود والنساء وأفراد أسرهم أيضًا. هل توافق؟

رد

سأوافق بالتأكيد ، توم. هناك فرق ليلا ونهارا في الاهتمام الحقيقي والتركيز الذي توليه قيادتنا العسكرية والمدنية والزي الرسمي الآن للحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية لأفراد الخدمة في الوقت المناسب اليوم مقارنة بوقت تقاعدي في عام 1996. ومع ذلك ، فإن وصمة العار الصحية السلوكية هي عقبة ثقافية داخل كل من العسكرية وكذلك في جميع أنحاء أمتنا ككل. لذلك ، قد يكون الحصول على الخدمة وأفراد الأسرة للتغلب على مقاومة ثقافية طويلة الأمد لطلب الخدمات أمرًا صعبًا وبطيئًا. يجب عليك استخدام الثقافة (العسكرية) لتغيير الجوانب المختلة لتلك الثقافة التنظيمية نفسها.

رد
بيتي اجيديو
أغسطس 7، 2015 1:18 م

شكرا لك على المقال الذي يحتوي على معلومات قيمة شمل الدكتور سكروجز. بعد أن عملت كطبيب مدني في برنامج المناصرة العائلية للجيش لسنوات عديدة ، والعمل مع الجرحى المحاربين بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت وصمة العار في الذهاب إلى الصحة السلوكية حاجزًا ثابتًا يجب التغلب عليه داخل الأسرة العسكرية ؛ خاصة مع كبار الضباط. أوافق على أنه في الجيش اليوم ، هناك المزيد من الأفراد الذين يستفيدون من نظام الصحة العقلية لاكتساب القوة ، بدلاً من النظر إلى طلب المساعدة كعلامة على الضعف أو الخوف من فقدان الرتبة. بصفتها أمًا لأخصائي اجتماعي إكلينيكي ، وابنة تعمل مع Army Rangers وتسعى للحصول على مساعدة فيما يتعلق بمخاوف الصحة العقلية ، بالإضافة إلى كونها زوجة لضابط في القوات الخاصة ، فإنها تقدر أنها "تساعد فردًا منا" وتستخدم العديد من الموارد المتاحة للجيش الآن لمساعدة أولئك الذين يعانون من أعراض ما بعد الصدمة. غالبًا ما تعمل "كأم عزباء" كما يفعل العديد من الأزواج العسكريين الآخرين عندما يكون شركاؤهم في التدريب أو في الخدمة. إن بناء المرونة الزوجية هو المفتاح ؛ لكن هذا لمدونة مستقبلية! أشكركم مرة أخرى على تقديم هذا التعليم القيّم فيما يتعلق بمجتمعنا العسكري ونشكركم على خدمتكم لبلدنا كجندي في الجيش وجندي في الحياة المدنية. إنه لمن دواعي سروري العمل معك في مجتمع Beacon Health للتشجيع على القضاء على وصمة المرض العقلي.

رد

بيتي ، شكرًا لك على عملك مع برنامج الدفاع عن الأسرة التابع للجيش ومساعدة المحاربين الجرحى. ابنتك التي ساعدت رينجرز في الحصول على رعاية صحية سلوكية ومتزوجة من ضابط من القوات الخاصة هي في وضع رائع للسماح لأعضاء الخدمة النخبة بمعرفة أن رغبتهم في الحفاظ على الاستعداد القتالي من خلال البحث عن رعاية مبكرة وفي الوقت المناسب إذا تحدثوا عنها لاحقًا علانية تجعل من السهل على أعضاء الخدمة الآخرين الوصول إلى خدمات الصحة السلوكية أيضًا. أعمل بالفعل على اقتراحك لمعالجة "بناء المرونة الزوجية". شكرا لك ولابنتك!

رد
ليندا ، RN ، BSN
أغسطس 7، 2015 4:15 م

أنا حقا أحب هذه المشاركة. تعتبر متلازمة ما بعد الصدمة حقيقة ويمكن علاجها ، بمجرد التغلب على وصمة طلب المساعدة وإتاحة الوصول إلى رعاية الصحة العقلية المناسبة والاستفادة منها بسهولة. على الرغم من أن أمتنا قد أتت بطريقة مهمة في معالجة الصحة السلوكية ، إلا أن وصمة العار المرتبطة بها حقيقية للغاية وتحتاج إلى معالجتها بشكل علني والتشكيك والقضاء عليها. أحببت تركيزك الذي غالبًا ما فاتك على النمو بعد الصدمة ، بمجرد استخدام الخدمات ودعمها ، بدلاً من التركيز على المخضرم التالف أو المعطل. نشكرك على مشاركة الروابط الخاصة بالموارد العسكرية والمتقدمة المتاحة. أعتقد أنه مع مشاهدة أفلام مثل "The American Sniper" ، ومشاركة مقالتك ومواردك ، واستخدام هذه البرامج الناجحة ، فإن التقدم الذي سيحرزه الجيش في نهاية المطاف في مجال الرعاية الصحية المهم هذا سيصبح أكثر وضوحًا مع نظرائهم المدنيين ، مما يؤدي إلى الشفاء والاستعادة وحياة أقوى.

رد

ليندا ، أتفق معك بصدق على أنه بينما نسمع ونرى تطورات واضحة في مجال خدمات الصحة العقلية ، فإن وصمة العار المحيطة بالسعي العلني لمثل هذه الخدمات تعتبر كبيرة ولا تزال على ارتفاع 10 أقدام أمام العديد من أفراد الخدمة وعائلاتهم. للوصمة أساس ثقافي وتغيير الثقافة يستغرق وقتًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن القلق بشأن الوصمة القائمة ، في بعض الحالات ، أمر منطقي. إذا تحدثت مع خبراء نفسيين عسكريين كبار ذوي خبرة ، فسوف يقرون بأنه لا تزال هناك أمثلة على السياسات والمتطلبات العسكرية التي إذا طلب أحد أفراد الخدمة أو أقر بتلقي رعاية صحية عقلية - يمكن أن تجعلهم أقل قدرة على المنافسة و / أو يجعل الأمر أكثر صعوبة أو مستحيلًا بالنسبة لهم. أن يتأهل هذا العضو في الخدمة لشغل وظائف مدنية في وزارة الدفاع في مجال خبرته بعد خدمته العسكرية بالزي الرسمي. وصمة العار حقيقية ويجب محاربتها باستمرار على جميع المستويات.

رد

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المطلوبة محددة *
لن يتم نشر التعليقات غير الملائمة و / أو التي لا تتعلق بالموضوع الحالي المطروح.

arالعربية

Access to Behavioral Health Care Promotes Post-Traumatic Growth

American Sniper Blog Image

Achieving positive psychological growth from adversity

Behavioral health was an issue we avoided during my 20 years as an Army Infantry officer. It wasn’t until I began working for a national behavioral health company nine years ago that I understood the value of timely behavioral health care for our military.

Through Chris Kyle’s story, America saw three key elements of behavioral health support that can lead not only to recovery but also to growth for an individual exposed to extreme physical and mental trauma, often referred to as post-traumatic growth.

For many, that education came overnight. One recent box office hit gave more than 25 million Americans a realistic view of the importance of behavioral health support for the recovery and growth of service members.

American Sniper, directed by Clint Eastwood and starring Bradley Cooper, tells the life story of Navy Seal Chris Kyle, the deadliest marksman in U.S. military history with 160 confirmed kills during four combat tours in Iraq.

The movie highlights the difficulty of war on our service men and women, in general, and the individual stressors built up over time with being the nation’s deadliest marksman, in particular. As strong as Chris was, his mental health could not withstand the crushing pressure of his wartime experiences. Through Chris Kyle’s story, America saw three key elements of behavioral health support that can lead not only to recovery but also to growth for an individual exposed to extreme physical and mental trauma, often referred to as post-traumatic growth.

  1. Family support

Family members are combat readiness multipliers, who seldom receive notice or thanks for the load they bear. In American Sniper, Chris’ wife, Taya, tries to convince him each time he returns from a deployment to seek help as he grows more isolated from the family. It isn’t until he nearly kills the family dog during a backyard barbecue that his family is finally successful in getting him to seek help through the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). That visit turns out to be life-changing.

Just as Taya was to Chris, family members are invaluable support structures to the service member living with significant daily stressors before, during, and after deployments. However, military families need support as well, or their reserve tanks will run dry. Fortunately, many resources are available that specifically target and support military families during all stages of their military and post-military journey, such as Military OneSource, a 24/7 resource for assisting military families and TRICARE, the military’s health care program. Also noteworthy, the National Military Family Association offers scholarships to military spouses, summer camps for military kids, family retreats, and advocacy efforts to protect military family benefits.

Where behavioral health counselors may have to work through the rapport-building process to gain credibility, the peer can be an instant and significant supplement in support of ongoing behavioral health counseling.

  1. Understanding military culture

During Chris’ VA counseling encounter, the therapist applied his awareness of military cultural nuance to guide his reluctant client onto a path of recovery. Using Chris’ innate need to protect and assist his fellow warriors, the therapist was able to redirect Chris’ focus to talking with (and trying to “save”) other veterans at the VA hospital with both visible and invisible wounds. This later motivated him to provide group and one-on-one peer support for other veterans in the community.

Having counselors with an understanding of military culture is key, especially in those initial sessions. Military community and family support programs such as Military OneSource provide ready access to short-term counseling, warm transfers to mental health counseling, and an extraordinary array of support services, including military peer support.

  1. Peer support

There are times when family support has its limits. Combat veterans, like Chris, become increasingly distant, keeping war accounts and stories to themselves as a way to protect their loved ones. Chris tells Taya, “I don’t want [the war] in your head.”

This is where peers (generally veterans who have successfully dealt with their own mental health recovery) are of great therapeutic value. Where behavioral health counselors may have to work through the rapport-building process to gain credibility, the peer can be an instant and significant supplement in support of ongoing behavioral health counseling. Peer consultants come to the table with ready-made credentials (“been there, done that”), making rapport-building, and ultimately recovery and growth, a much faster process.

American Sniper is a significant movie in that it highlights the post-traumatic growth we see in the typical veteran integrating back into our communities, reinforcing the importance of mitigating the stigma associated with military personnel seeking behavioral health services. Doing so is critical to combat readiness and to supporting service members, veterans and their families in remaining on a positive personal and professional trajectory.

More resources for our military, veterans and their families:

  1. Make the Connection: VA online resource that connects veterans and their friends and family members with information, resources, and solutions to issues affecting their lives.
  2. Veterans Crisis Line: 1.800.273.8255
  3. Coast Guard Support Program: A 24/7 resource for assisting Coast Guard active duty, reserve and civilian employees and their families.
  4. Military Culture: Core Competencies for Healthcare Professionals: A DoD/VA resource for educating clinical civilian providers in military culture: Four, two-hour modules with two free CEUs earned for each module completed.
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Google Bookmarks

8 Comments. Leave new

Thank you, Dr.Scroggs for this informational and insightful article on post-traumatic growth. I appreciate the additional resources that you listed in the article. As a nurse clinician within our behavioral health company and a spouse of an Army veteran (and daughter-in-law to a Navy veteran), I am familiar with the military culture and the stigma associated with military personnel seeking behavioral health services. This article is ready made for sharing with my family members as well as my colleagues. I wish I had this information while my spouse was an active duty member! Thanks again!

Reply

Thank you, Ruth. I wish I had this information when I was on active duty 1976-96. But it is never too late to just talk about these services and approach them openly just as you would if you or a family member sought services for a fever or hurt ankle. Thanks again, Ruth.
Steve

Reply
Tom Warburton
August 6, 2015 6:33 pm

Thanks, Steve for this great post. I have never served our country in the military, so I can only imagine what it must be like to return from combat abroad to everyday life here in the U.S. You state that behavioral health was something to be ‘avoided’ during your time in the Army, but my sense is that is rapidly changing with the military putting ever-increasing emphasis on reducing stigma and providing access to quality behavioral health care for servicemen and women and their family members as well. Would you agree?

Reply

I would definitely agree, Tom. There is night and day difference in the genuine interest and emphasis now placed by our military civilian and uniformed leadership on getting our service members timely behavioral health services today compared to when I retired in 1996. However behavioral health stigma is a cultural obstacle both within the military as well as throughout our nation as a whole. Therefore getting service and family members to overcome a longstanding cultural resistance to seeking services can be difficult and slow. You have to use (military) culture to change dysfunctional aspects of that same organizational culture.

Reply
betty egidio
August 7, 2015 1:18 pm

Thank you for the article with valuable information included Dr. Scroggs. Having been a civilian clinician within the Army Familiy Advocacy program for many years, and working with Wounded Warriors in addition, the stigma of going to Behavioral Health was a persistant barrier to overcome within the military family; particularly with senior officers. I agree that in today’s military there are more personnel taking advantage of the mental health system to gain strength, rather than viewing seeking help as a sign of weakness or as having fear of losing rank. As a mother of a clinical social worker, daughter working with Army Rangers seeking help for mental health concerns, and in addition to being a wife of a Special Forces officer, she values that she is “helping one of our own” and utilizes the many resources the military now has available to assist those struggling with post trauma symptoms. She is often acting as a “Single Mom” as many other military spouses do when their partners are in training or deployed. Building spousal resiliency is key; however that is for a future blog! Thank you again for providing this valuable education regarding our military community and thank you for your service to our country as a soldier in the military and a soldier in civilian life. It’s a pleasure to work with you within our Beacon Health community to promote stamping out the stigma of mental illness.

Reply

Betty, Thank you for your work with the Army Family Advocacy Program and helping our Wounded Warriors. Your daughter who helped Rangers receive behavioral health care and is married to a Special Forces officer is in a great position to let these elite service members know that their willingness to maintain combat readiness by seeking early and timely care if they later speak of it openly can make it significantly easier for other service members to reach out for behavioral health services as well. Am already working on your suggestion to address ‘building spousal resiliency’. Thanks to you and your daughter!

Reply
Linda, RN, BSN
August 7, 2015 4:15 pm

I really liked your post. PTS is real and treatable, once the stigma of seeking help can be overcome and access to appropriate mental health care is readily available and utilized. Although our nation has come a significant way in addressing behavioral health, the stigma associated with it is very real and needs to be openly addressed, questioned and eliminated. I liked your often missed focus on post-traumatic growth, once services are used and supported, rather than on the damaged or broken veteran. Thank you for sharing the links on available military and veteran resources. I think as movies like, “The American Sniper”, are seen, your article and resources shared, and these successful programs used, the progress the military will eventually make in this critical healthcare area will become more evident with their civilian counterparts, resulting in healing, restoration and stronger lives.

Reply

Linda, Agree wholeheartedly with you that while we are hearing and seeing clear advances in the area of mental health services, stigma surrounding openly seeking such services is significant and still stands 10 feet tall before many service members and their families. The stigma has a cultural basis and changing culture takes time. Additionally being concerned about existing stigma, in certain instances, is rational. If you talk with experienced senior military psychatrists, they will acknowledge that there are still examples of military policies and requirements that if a service member seeks or acknowledges receiving mental health care- could make them less competitive and/or make it more difficult or impossible for that service member to qualify for civilian DoD positions in their area of expertise following their uniformed military service. Stigma is real and needs to be continually battled at all levels.

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *