[跳至内容]

重要的旅程

0202-Beacon-Bike-Ride-Lens2014年8月,我得到了我的第一辆公路自行车。进行了几次尝试,以使自己对“插入”和管理所有齿轮充满信心。有人告诉我,你至少摔倒10次才算是真正的自行车手。好痛但是,一旦掌握了它,最终,我就喜欢骑自行车了。

这与我和几个同样疯狂的朋友签署了一个疯狂的挑战一样好。我们设定的目标是“穿越英国”,从康沃尔郡的天涯海角到苏格兰的约翰·格罗兹(John o'Groats),历时9天达到960英里。幸运的是,我们并不是一个人做。卡车每天运送我们的行李和帐篷,以及提供大量食物的团队为我们提供了充分的支持,以使我们和我们的700名同龄骑手连续9天保持加油和水分状态。我认为我在任何九天的时间内都没有吃过太多东西。

在阳光明媚的波士顿训练了一个夏天之后,该旅程于2015年9月回到了阳光普照的英国。尽管有一些毛茸茸的(和丘陵)的时刻,我很自豪地说我和我的朋友们完成了整个旅程。这是一次了不起的体验。我能做到的壮举 绝不 想像了12个月前。许多人听了我的故事。其他人亲眼目睹了这场史诗般的挑战从恢复中花费了多长时间!就是说,这并没有让我骑自行车或冒险。恰恰相反。

如果您今年一直在寻找新的健身目标,那就别无所求。这是秋天发生的事情:从9月16日到10月18日,信标健康选择将举办“真棒信标自行车骑行”。这次冒险将是一系列每日骑行,每天骑行范围从20到80英里,以涵盖从马萨诸塞州波士顿到佛罗里达州迈阿密的路线。除了游乐设施,我们还将为 娜美 (全国精神疾病联盟)和 美国精神卫生.

鼓励大家参加

我们已经有Beacon参与者排队参加并支持这次旅程。现在,我们邀请客户,合作伙伴和同事加入我们的冒险之旅。我们欢迎您的参与,也可以在起跑线和终点线为我们的车手加油助威。要注册您的兴趣,请填写以下简短问卷: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/BeaconBikeRide。如果您已经完成了“自行车骑行”调查,则无需回答。我们会提供您的详细信息,并将在短期内与您联系。

如果您骑自行车已经有好几年了,请不要推迟。或实际上,您从未学过如何做。阻止大多数人学习新事物的想法是,他们太老,不够好或太忙。如果我的经验值得借鉴,那么这些都不是无法克服的。令人敬畏的信标自行车骑行不是一场比赛。这是关于享受旅程。作为一家医疗保健公司,鼓励健康的行为至关重要。除了娱乐之外,您的参与还有科学上的好处。数以百计的研究表明,增加体育锻炼可以改善情绪,改善认知能力之间存在直接关系。因此,如果您想感觉更好,变得更好–我们期待着秋天与您一起骑行!

“结束旅程真是太好了;但最终,这才是最重要的旅程。” - 海明威


2评论。 留下新的

萨曼莎(Samantha)
二月2,2016 9:57下午

信标参加的盛大活动!我和CT上的其他几个人都加入了我们,并期待着它!

回复
汤姆·沃伯顿
二月4,2016 3:04下午

艾玛(Emma),恭喜您领导这项惊人的工作。你是一个灵感!!

回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开。必需的地方已做标记 *
不适当和/或与当前主题无关的评论将不会发布。

热门链接
zh_CN简体中文

It’s the Journey That Matters

0202-Beacon-Bike-Ride-LensIn August 2014, I got my first road bike. It took several attempts to feel confident about “clipping in” and managing all the gears. I was advised that you aren’t a real cyclist until you’ve fallen off at least 10 times. This hurt. However, once I got the hang of it – eventually – I loved being out on my bike.

This was just as well as I had signed up for a crazy challenge with a few equally crazy friends. The target we had set ourselves was to “Ride Across Britain” from Land’s End in Cornwall to John o’ Groats in Scotland, a distance of 960 miles over nine days. Fortunately, we weren’t doing this alone. The ride was fully supported with trucks moving our bags and tents each day, along with teams providing mountains of food to keep us and our 700 fellow riders fueled and hydrated for nine consecutive days. I don’t think I have ever eaten so much in any nine-day period, ever.

After a summer of training in sunny Boston, the ride took place in September 2015 back in the not-so-sunny UK. Despite a few hairy (and hilly) moments, I am proud to say that my friends and I completed the whole ride. It was an awesome and incredible experience. A feat I could never have imagined 12 months previously. Many have heard my stories; others witnessed firsthand just how long this epic challenge took to recover from! That said, it hasn’t put me off cycling or adventures. Quite the opposite.

If you have been looking for a new fitness goal this year, look no further. Here’s what’s happening in the fall: From September 16 to October 18, Beacon Health Options will be hosting The Awesome Beacon Bike Ride. This adventure will be a series of daily bike rides, ranging from 20 to 80 miles per day, to cover the route from Boston, Massachusetts, to Miami, Florida. Alongside the rides, we will be fundraising for NAMI (National Alliance for Mental Illness) and Mental Health America.

Everyone is encouraged to participate

We already have Beacon participants lined up to participate and support the ride. Now we invite our clients, partners and colleagues to join us on this adventure. We welcome your involvement either as a participant or cheering our riders on at the start and finish lines. To register your interest, please complete this short questionnaire: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/BeaconBikeRide. If you have already completed the Bike Ride survey, there is no need to respond to this; we have your details and will be in contact about the route shortly.

Don’t be put off if it’s been years since you rode a bike. Or in fact you never learned how. What stops most people from learning new things is the thought that they are too old, won’t be good enough or are just too busy. If my experience is anything to go by, none of these are insurmountable. The Awesome Beacon Bike Ride is not a race. It is about enjoying the journey. As a health care company, encouraging healthy behaviors matters. Apart from being fun, there are scientific benefits to your participation. Hundreds of studies have shown a direct correlation between increased physical exercise leading to improved mood and improved cognitive performance. So, if you want to feel better and be better – we look forward to riding with you in the fall!

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” — Ernest Hemingway

Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Google Bookmarks

2 Comments. Leave new

Great event for Beacon to participate in! Myself and a couple more folks here in CT are IN and looking forward to it!

Reply
Tom Warburton
February 4, 2016 3:04 pm

Emma, congrats on leading this amazing effort. You are an inspiration!!

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *